bookkeepz← All Articles
Private PracticeOctober 27, 202615 min read

Recording S Corp Owner Pay in a Therapy Practice's Books: Payroll, Distributions, and the W-2

by Andrew Pizzello, CPALicensed CPA in North Carolina and Certified QuickBooks Online ProAdvisor. He leads the bookkeepz team.
In short. A therapist who owns an S corporation is paid as wages through payroll, as reimbursements under an accountable plan, and as distributions, and the books give each one its own accounts. Each payroll is recorded gross, with officer wages and the employer's payroll taxes as expenses and every amount withheld as a liability that clears when the payroll provider sends it on. Distributions sit in equity by shareholder and never touch the P&L. Owner health insurance gets its own account and goes onto the W-2, and at year-end the W-2s are tied to the four Forms 941 and to the ledger before the W-2s and the fourth-quarter Form 941 are filed. The salary itself is a tax decision for our affiliated CPA firm, PizzelloCPA, PLLC, under a separate engagement, or for your own CPA.

A therapist who elects S corporation status becomes an employee of their own practice. IRS Publication 15 says that when a business is incorporated, corporate officers who work in the business are employees of the corporation, and the IRS says an S corporation must pay reasonable compensation to a shareholder-employee for their services before non-wage distributions are made. This article covers the bookkeeping half of that arrangement for a solo or group therapy practice that keeps its books in QuickBooks Online and runs payroll through an outside provider. bookkeepz, LLC records the payroll your provider runs and reconciles it to the books, and we do not set the salary. That figure comes from PizzelloCPA, PLLC or your own CPA, and PizzelloCPA, PLLC explains the approach in setting a reasonable S corporation salary when you are the clinician. For how we work with mental health practices generally, start with bookkeeping and accounting for therapists and counselors.

How money moves from the practice to the owner

Apart from a documented loan, every dollar an S corporation owner takes from the practice belongs in one of three places in the books, and the label is settled when the money moves. Wages are paid only through payroll, with withholding, and appear on the owner's W-2. Reimbursements repay practice expenses the owner covered personally, against an expense report with receipts. Distributions are payments to the owner as a shareholder, with no withholding and no W-2.

The books of an S corporation have no owner draw account. A transfer to the owner outside payroll that neither repays a documented expense report nor is a documented loan is recorded as a distribution, because sorting a year of "draws" into wages, reimbursements, and distributions in January is slower and less reliable than labeling each one the day it happens. The label in the books does not decide the tax answer. The Instructions for Form 1120-S say distributions and other payments by an S corporation to a corporate officer must be treated as wages to the extent the amounts are reasonable compensation for services rendered to the corporation, and whether the year's mix holds up is for PizzelloCPA, PLLC or your own CPA to judge.

The accounts that keep owner pay readable

For an S corporation practice we give the owner's pay its own accounts, separate from the ones used for other staff.

  • Officer wages, for the owner's gross pay
  • Payroll taxes, officer, for the employer's taxes on the owner's wages
  • Officer health insurance, for premiums the practice pays or reimburses for the owner
  • A payroll liability account for each kind of withholding, each of which clears when the money is sent on
  • Shareholder distributions, contributions, and loans, with a separate set for each shareholder when there is more than one

The officer accounts follow the tax return. Under the 2025 Instructions for Form 1120-S, compensation of officers goes on line 7, separately from other salaries and wages on line 8, and fringe benefits for officers and employees owning more than 2% of the stock go on line 7 or 8 rather than with employee benefit programs on line 18, which is why owner health insurance does not share an account with staff benefits. The same instructions keep elective 401(k) contributions off lines 7 and 8, so the officer wages account is not copied straight onto line 7, and whoever prepares the return places each amount. In a group practice the owner's salary also stays outside the clinician classes, as bookkeeping for group therapy practices explains, so the owner's own caseload can be compared with everyone else's.

Recording a payroll run

In the practices we work with, a payroll provider such as Gusto or QuickBooks Payroll calculates each paycheck and its withholding, pays the owner, and sends the tax deposits. In the books, one payroll becomes one entry on payday and then smaller entries as the withheld money is sent on, with the payroll liability accounts carrying the difference in between, so the expense and the cash never match on a single bank line. Here is the payday entry for one month at a hypothetical solo practice whose only employee is the owner, paid $8,000 a month.

Hypothetical example with made-up round numbers, not client data. Social Security (6.2%) and Medicare (1.45%) are the 2026 rates for both the employer and the employee from IRS Publication 15, and the example assumes the owner's 2026 wages stay under the $184,500 Social Security wage base and under the $200,000 above which the employer also withholds the 0.9% Additional Medicare Tax. The income tax withholding and the 401(k) deferral are assumed amounts; the payroll provider figures actual withholding from the owner's own forms. Federal and state unemployment taxes are left out, and so is health insurance, which is covered below.
Account Debit Credit
Officer wages (gross pay) $8,000.00
Payroll taxes, officer (employer Social Security $496.00 and Medicare $116.00) $612.00
Cash (net pay to the owner) $5,338.00
Federal income tax withheld $900.00
Social Security tax payable (employee $496.00 and employer $496.00) $992.00
Medicare tax payable (employee $116.00 and employer $116.00) $232.00
State income tax withheld $350.00
401(k) deferrals payable $800.00
Total $8,612.00 $8,612.00

The entry says the owner's pay cost the practice $8,612 this month, $8,000 of wages plus $612 of employer Social Security and Medicare tax. The $3,274 of liabilities is money withheld or owed and not yet sent anywhere. When the money for the federal tax deposit leaves the practice's bank account, whether the provider debits it with the payroll or on the deposit date, a $2,124 debit to the three federal liability accounts ($900 of income tax, $992 of Social Security, and $232 of Medicare) and a matching credit to cash bring them back to zero, and the state withholding payment and the 401(k) remittance clear their own accounts the same way. A liability that keeps growing from month to month can mean a tax payment was coded to an expense account or a deduction was set up and never remitted, and it is worth finding long before the W-2s are prepared.

The employee's share of Social Security and Medicare, the income tax withheld, and the 401(k) deferral are part of the owner's $8,000 of wages, held by the practice until they are paid over, so they sit on the balance sheet rather than the P&L. If a payroll is entered from the bank feed alone, the $5,338 of net pay becomes the wage expense, officer wages are understated by $2,662, and the W-2 and the ledger cannot agree.

Officer wages and shareholder distributions stay in separate accounts

A distribution is not an expense. It is recorded as a debit to the shareholder distributions account in equity and a credit to cash, it carries no withholding or employer tax, and it is not on the W-2. Under the 2025 Instructions for Form 1120-S the corporation reports distributions on Schedule K, line 16d, and on the Schedule K-1 of each shareholder who received them, so every distribution needs a date, an amount, and the right shareholder's name in the books.

Wages only ever leave through the payroll provider's debits, and distributions are transfers the owner makes on purpose, each coded to that owner's distribution account. Personal spending that went through the practice's card or bank account is reclassified to distributions as well, so the P&L shows only practice costs, and money the owner puts in is recorded as a contribution or a loan from the shareholder rather than as revenue. Loans in either direction get their own balance sheet accounts with the note and the repayments on file. Whether a payment is a loan or a distribution for tax purposes, and what a distribution out of proportion to ownership means when there is more than one shareholder, are questions for PizzelloCPA, PLLC or your own CPA, and we raise an uneven distribution when it happens rather than at year-end. PizzelloCPA, PLLC explains how distributions interact with each owner's basis in shareholder basis and distributions.

Each month the owner sees year-to-date officer wages next to year-to-date distributions. That is the view PizzelloCPA, PLLC or your own CPA needs to check the year against the salary plan, and it shows the salary was paid as wages through payroll rather than written into a memo and taken as transfers.

Owner health insurance and the 2% shareholder rule

IRS Publication 15-B defines a 2% shareholder as someone who directly or indirectly owns, for any day during the tax year, more than 2% of the corporation's stock or stock with more than 2% of the voting power, which includes the sole owner of a solo practice. Under IRS Notice 2008-1, premiums the S corporation pays for that shareholder-employee in the current tax year, or reimburses after the shareholder pays them and furnishes proof of payment, are included in the shareholder's Form W-2 wages for income tax withholding, but are not wages for Social Security and Medicare tax if the requirements of section 3121(a)(2)(B) are satisfied. The IRS page on S corporation compensation and medical insurance issues puts the result in W-2 terms, with the premiums in box 1 but not in boxes 3 and 5.

In the books, the premium the practice pays to the insurer, or repays to the owner against proof of payment, is coded to officer health insurance, not to staff benefits and not to the accountable plan. In payroll, the same amount is added to the owner's taxable wages without being paid out again in cash, which is how it reaches box 1 and how the provider takes it into account in figuring income tax withholding. If the payroll provider's sync posts that item to the ledger, it must not create a second expense, since the expense was recorded when the premium was paid. At year-end the officer health insurance account is compared with the amount on the owner's W-2. The 2025 Instructions for Form 1120-S also ask for these premiums as an information item in box 14 of the shareholder's W-2, and the 2026 W-2 instructions say information formerly reported in box 14 now goes in box 14a.

Notice 2008-1 says that for the shareholder to deduct the premiums, the corporation must report the premiums it paid or reimbursed as wages on the shareholder's W-2 in that same year, and that when the premiums are not paid or reimbursed by the corporation and included in the shareholder's gross income, the deduction under section 162(l) is not allowed. So premiums the owner paid personally are repaid against proof of payment before December 31, and the year's total goes into a 2026 payroll no later than the last one of the year, as our year-end bookkeeping checklist lays out. The deduction itself is decided by PizzelloCPA, PLLC or your own CPA, and PizzelloCPA, PLLC covers the rules in health insurance for S corporation owners.

Accountable-plan reimbursements in the books

An owner who pays a practice cost personally, such as the business share of a home office used for telehealth, mileage between the practice's two offices, or a license renewal, is repaid through the practice's accountable plan rather than through payroll. IRS Publication 15 says an accountable plan must require employees to have paid or incurred allowable expenses while performing services as employees, to substantiate those expenses within a reasonable period of time, and to return any amounts in excess of the substantiated expenses within a reasonable period of time. It says amounts paid under an accountable plan are not wages and are not subject to income, Social Security, Medicare, and FUTA taxes, and the W-2 instructions say such payments are generally not reported on Form W-2.

In the books, a reimbursement is recorded as the expense it repays. We ask for the owner's expense report with receipts every month, and the practice pays it in one transfer that matches the report. Each line goes where the expense belongs, so a license renewal lands in licenses and dues, mileage in auto expense, and the home office share in occupancy, never in distributions or payroll, with the report and receipts attached to the transaction. Publication 15 says timing is generally reasonable when expenses are accounted for within 60 days after they were paid or incurred and any excess is returned within 120 days, and a monthly report stays well inside that.

A flat monthly allowance with no report behind it does not fit this. Publication 15 treats payments as made under a nonaccountable plan when the employee isn't required to substantiate the expenses with receipts or other documentation, and those payments are wages that belong in payroll. Whether a given expense can be reimbursed, and whether the plan qualifies, is decided by PizzelloCPA, PLLC or your own CPA, and PizzelloCPA, PLLC's article on accountable plans for S corporation practice owners covers the requirements.

The year-end payroll tie-out

Before the W-2s are final, the year's payroll reports are tied to the quarterly Forms 941 and to the general ledger. The Form 941 instructions make the fourth-quarter return due January 31 and let a return due on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday be filed on the next business day, and January 31, 2027 is a Sunday, so the date is Monday, February 1, 2027. The W-2 instructions set the same February 1, 2027 date for furnishing 2026 Forms W-2 to employees and for filing them, with Form W-3, with the Social Security Administration.

The W-2 instructions say to reconcile boxes 2, 3, 5, and 7 of Form W-3 (income tax withheld, Social Security wages, Medicare wages and tips, and Social Security tips) with the yearly totals from the four quarterly Forms 941, and that the Social Security and Medicare taxes on the Forms 941 should be approximately twice the amounts on Form W-3, because the 941 carries both the employer's and the employee's share. Box 1 is not on that list, and for an S corporation owner box 1 is where the W-2 departs from the ledger.

Continuing the hypothetical, twelve payrolls of $8,000 put $96,000 in officer wages, twelve premiums of $1,000 put $12,000 in officer health insurance, and the owner deferred $800 a month, $9,600 for the year, into the practice's 401(k) as pre-tax deferrals. The W-2 instructions leave pre-tax 401(k) elective deferrals out of box 1 but report them in box 3, with code D in box 12, while designated Roth 401(k) contributions go in boxes 1, 3, and 5 with code AA, and the instructions treat box 5 Medicare wages as the same wages as box 3 without the wage base limit. So the owner's W-2 should show $96,000 in boxes 3 and 5 and $98,400 in box 1, which is $96,000 less the $9,600 deferral plus the $12,000 of premiums, assuming the section 3121(a)(2)(B) conditions are met. Boxes 4 and 6 should show $5,952 and $1,392 withheld, the Social Security and Medicare tax on the four Forms 941 should be twice that combined amount, $14,688, and the officer payroll tax account should hold the employer's half, $7,344, which is twelve months of $612.

Two timing items can make a correct W-2 disagree with a correct ledger. The W-2 instructions say the entries must be based on wages paid during the calendar year, so late-December wages paid on January 1, 2027 belong on the 2027 W-2 even when accrual-basis books expense them in 2026. And payroll liabilities at December 31 equal what the provider will remit in January for December's payrolls, not zero, when the last deposits fall in the new year. Each item goes into the tie-out with its amount until nothing is left unexplained.

Once a W-2 is filed, the W-2 instructions say errors are corrected on Form W-2c, and that a W-2c may require correcting previously filed employment tax returns on the matching "X" form, such as Form 941-X. The finished tie-out goes to PizzelloCPA, PLLC or your own CPA with the rest of the year-end package, because the corporation's return starts from the same numbers.

Key takeaways. Wages through payroll, reimbursements under an accountable plan, and distributions each get their own accounts from the first transaction. Record each payroll gross, with officer wages and the employer's taxes as expenses and every amount withheld as a liability that clears when the provider remits it. Keep distributions in equity by shareholder, off the P&L. Code owner health insurance to its own account and get it into a 2026 payroll so it lands in box 1 of the W-2. Before the W-2s are final, reconcile them to the four Forms 941 and to the ledger, and explain every difference. The salary is set by PizzelloCPA, PLLC or your own CPA, and the books show whether it was paid.

Common questions

Who decides how much an S corporation therapist pays themselves?

That is a tax decision for our affiliated CPA firm, PizzelloCPA, PLLC, under a separate engagement, or for your own CPA. The IRS says an S corporation must pay a shareholder-employee reasonable compensation for their services before non-wage distributions are made. The books record the salary that was decided, run it through payroll as officer wages, and show year-to-date wages next to year-to-date distributions every month.

Are shareholder distributions an expense on the P&L?

No. A distribution is recorded in an equity account for shareholder distributions, with a separate account for each shareholder when there is more than one, and it carries no withholding or employer tax and is not on the W-2. The 2025 Instructions for Form 1120-S have the corporation report distributions on Schedule K, line 16d, and on the Schedule K-1 of each shareholder who received them, so every distribution needs a date, an amount, and the shareholder's name.

How does an S corporation owner's health insurance get onto the W-2?

The practice pays the premium during the year, or repays the owner against proof of payment, and codes it to an officer health insurance account. The same amount is added to the owner's taxable wages in payroll without being paid out again in cash. Under IRS Notice 2008-1 the premiums are W-2 wages for income tax withholding but not Social Security and Medicare wages if the section 3121(a)(2)(B) requirements are satisfied, so they appear in box 1 and not in boxes 3 and 5. The tax treatment is decided by PizzelloCPA, PLLC or your own CPA.

Do accountable-plan reimbursements go through payroll?

No. The owner submits an expense report with receipts, the practice repays it from the business account, and each item is recorded in the expense account it belongs to. IRS Publication 15 says amounts paid under an accountable plan are not wages, and the W-2 instructions say they are generally not reported on Form W-2. Payments the owner isn't required to substantiate, such as a flat monthly allowance, are treated as paid under a nonaccountable plan and belong in payroll as wages.

Why doesn't box 1 of the owner's W-2 match officer wages in the books?

Because box 1 is not gross pay. The W-2 instructions leave pre-tax 401(k) elective deferrals out of box 1 while including them in boxes 3 and 5, report designated Roth 401(k) contributions in boxes 1, 3, and 5, and put health insurance premiums an S corporation pays for a 2% shareholder-employee in box 1 but in boxes 3 and 5 only if they are not excludable under section 3121(a)(2)(B). Box 1 should equal officer wages, less the owner's pre-tax 401(k) deferrals, plus the officer health insurance account, and any other difference needs its own explanation.

For how we set up books for mental health practices, see bookkeeping for therapists and counselors and for psychologists. The December steps for owner payroll are in our year-end bookkeeping checklist for private practices, group owners will want bookkeeping for group therapy practices and W-2 vs 1099 clinicians, and the signs a therapy practice's books aren't tax-ready is the checklist to run before the books go to a tax preparer. On the tax side, PizzelloCPA, PLLC covers reasonable S corporation salary for therapists, owner health insurance on the W-2, accountable plans, and retirement plans for practice owners. If you are comparing providers, what bookkeeping costs for a therapy practice lays out published prices.

Talk it through with us

If your owner pay shows up in the books as a run of transfers with no payroll behind them, or your W-2 has never been tied to the ledger, book a free 30-minute consult. Bring a recent payroll register and last year's W-2, and we will show you what the owner's accounts would look like set up this way.

Share this article:𝕏fin
Free Download: Private Practice Tax Prep Checklist
Everything you need organized before tax season.

Related reading

Getting Started
Year-End Bookkeeping Checklist for Private Practices: Closing the Books on 2026
Reconciliations through December 31, the full-year EHR tie-out, matching your Forms 1099-K, W-2 and contractor totals, owner items, inventory, and locking the year in QuickBooks Online.
Private Practice
Bookkeeping for Group Therapy Practices: Books That Track Every Clinician
Revenue by payer type, a cost of services section for clinician pay, one class per clinician, and an EHR-to-bank tie-out every month. How the books change when a therapy practice grows past solo.
Private Practice
W-2 vs 1099 Clinicians: How Each Shows Up in Your Books
Payroll or contract labor? How each arrangement lands in QuickBooks Online and on the P&L, what employer taxes add to a split, the records each needs, and how the monthly close changes.

Ready to hand this off?

Want this done for your practice every month? A dedicated bookkeeper on a team led by Andrew Pizzello, CPA keeps your books in your own QuickBooks Online account.

Compare bookkeeping packages
Starter, Grow, and Surge from $199/mo
Bookkeeping for therapists and group practices
What we do each month, packages from $199/mo
Questions first?
Read how bookkeepz works
Book a free consult
← Back to all articles